[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]

Quarterly Questions from the American Board of Ophthalmology

JAMA Network participates in the American Board of Ophthalmology’s Quarterly Questions® program. Quarterly Questions is an online activity for board-certified ophthalmologists that assesses clinically relevant practice knowledge and encourages continual article-based learning. It was developed by ophthalmologists for ophthalmologists as part of a system of professional self-regulation for physician specialists. Continuing Certification activities are created and administered by the ABO and its teams of volunteer subject matter experts to meet standards established by the American Board of Medical Specialties.

Each yearly edition of the Quarterly Questions program assesses everyday clinical knowledge relevant to the practice of ophthalmology and promotes the application of new knowledge from recent peer-reviewed journal articles, including selections from JAMA and JAMA Ophthalmology. Participants receive real-time performance feedback on every question along with links to further reading.

The 2022 Quarterly Questions program has been approved for 8 CME and Self-Assessment CME credits. To become eligible for CME/SACME credit for participation in Quarterly Questions, participants must do 3 things: 1) Answer all available knowledge questions for the year (40 questions); 2) Score at least 80% (8 out of 10 questions) correct on the article-based learning section of the activity; and, 3) Follow the in-platform instructions for claiming credits.

The ABO is a separate entity from JAMA and is an independent, nonprofit organization responsible for certifying ophthalmologists (eye physicians and surgeons) in the United States.

Accreditation Statement

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and The American Board of Ophthalmology. The American Academy of Ophthalmology is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American Academy of Ophthalmology designates this enduring material for a maximum of 8 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

To learn more about the ABO’s Quarterly Questions Program, visit https://abop.org/QQ.


Name Your Search

Save Search

Lookup An Activity


My Saved Searches

You currently have no searches saved.


My Saved Courses

You currently have no courses saved.